Colorado College | Edith Kinney Gaylord Cornerstone Arts Center

  • $24M
  • 75,000 SF
  • 2008
  • in association


  • 2009 Honor Award
  • American Institute of Architects
  • Denver Chapter
  • 2009 Honor Award
  • American Institute of Architects
  • New Mexico Chapter
  • 2009 North American Copper in Architecture Award
  • Copper Development Association, Canadian Copper and Brass Development Association
  • 2009 Best Building
  • 15th Annual Best of the Springs
  • The Colorado Springs Gazette
  • 2009 Design/Delivery Process Innovation Award Using BIM
  • Technology in Architectural Practice BIM Awards
  • American Institute of Architects
  • 2008 Gold Hard Hat Award
  • Outstanding Architectural Design Project
  • Colorado Construction Magazine

The Edith Kinney Gaylord Cornerstone Arts Center at Colorado College was conceived through the Colorado Arts Initiative (CAI) and began as a series of conversations and brainstorming sessions among faculty in the arts and humanities.

The new building is located at a juncture between downtown Colorado Springs and Colorado College. The site acts as a threshold that mediates the city to the historic campus. The design for the building takes into account the converging paths crossing the site and views toward Pike’s Peak. The facility serves as the physical backbone of the arts culture on campus.

The building achieved LEED Gold certification, the first Performing Arts Center in the State of Colorado to do so. Sustainable systems used in the building include extensive use of daylight throughout the building; development of computer fluid dynamic model for optimization of air distribution; operable windows providing natural ventilation; and native planting and drip irrigation for exterior landscaped areas.

Contact AMD

3198 Speer Boulevard
Denver Colorado 80211

303 294 9448
fax 303 294 0762

About AMD

We are a 50-person architectural firm located in Denver, Colorado. For over 40 years we have provided a full range of services including the planning, programming, and design of buildings for colleges, universities, schools, libraries, justice facilities, office buildings, cultural venues, and housing. We have twice been awarded the American Institute of Architects’ Firm Award “a distinguished body of work” and numerous local, regional and national design awards.

We believe architecture has the power to heighten human well-being and illuminate our cultural values. We are driven by a standard of excellence which provides the highest level of ethics and professionalism to our clients. We embrace thoughtful and responsible design in all aspects of our lives and we constantly strive to create buildings of architectural significance and responsibility.

Our work is developed within a collaborative atmosphere which cultivates research, analysis, and deliberation into judicious decision-making at all levels. Vigorous exploration of client goals is coupled with a detailed examination of their functional needs. This understanding is artfully transformed into three-dimensional space which inspires the daily life within the building. Physical patterns and the cultural fabric of each place are carefully studied to appropriately respond to each site’s unique physical and social context. Materials and systems are selected which respect and sustain our planet and the thoughtful expression of building craft and technology are economically integrated to bring the defining statement of character and identity for each of our clients.

AMD Staff
  • Paul S. Haack, AIA
  • Andrew G. Nielsen, FAIA
  • David C. Pfeifer, AIA
  • Joey Carrasquillo, AIA
  • John D. Graham, AIA
  • Ronald L. Mason, FAIA
  • John D. Anderson, FAIA
  • Curt F. Dale, FAIA
  • Cathy Bellem, AIA
  • Ben Blanchard, AIA
  • John Everin, AIA
  • Erin Hillhouse, AIA
  • David E. Houston, AIA
  • Suzanne Dupée Minear, AIA
  • Kristin O’Connell, Assoc AIA
  • Cynthia Ottenbrite, AIA
  • James R. Taylor, AIA
  • Dan Bishop, AIA
  • Stephan Hall, AIA
  • Peter Koehler, AIA
  • Ryan Lutz, AIA
  • Jenna Michieli, AIA
  • Michael Stesney, AIA
  • Todd Swarts, AIA
  • Kristina Winn, AIA
  • Julie Zurakowski, AIA