Douglas County Libraries l Parker Branch Library

  • 45,000 SF
  • $11.5M
  • 2016
  • in association

The physical nature of the Parker Branch Library is derivative of the idiosyncratic town grid and the master development plan of this 4-acre site, which includes a public park and plaza, also designed by AMD. The geometries adopted establish relationships considered critical to the development of the EastMain corridor: an optimal setback relationship from Main Street to establish an urban character for the site; a strong relationship to the proposed plaza and park; the building’s relationship to PACE and Town Hall in advancing a civic precinct for Parker; optimally addressing the service side of the building; creating an iconic moment at the intersection of Main Street and Pine Drive to serve as a true gateway marker.

The entry lobby is a café-vibe space that stretches along the entire west edge of the building, correlating with the exposure to the public plaza and terminating at Main Street with a picture window to reveal the activity within. The second floor of the library perches over the west edge to form a porch and promoting interplay between the plaza and library ground level. A flexible collaboration/ maker space suite makes itself present from the entry to contribute to the active nature of this space.

An ornamental stair rises from a sculptural plinth that provides casual seating area facing out to the collections. The aperture within which the stair rises adopts a sinuous profile gracefully populated by computer workstations along its length. Natural light from roof monitors transmits through this area, creating an active social hub to see and be seen. Study rooms contribute to the DNA of the south elevation, with their organization creating a kinetic and playful quality through projection and relief. In tandem with the maker spaces, these collaboration spaces place library patrons along Main Street, contributing to the character of this urban corridor.

Contact AMD

3198 Speer Boulevard
Denver Colorado 80211

303 294 9448
fax 303 294 0762

About AMD

We are a 50-person architectural firm located in Denver, Colorado. For over 40 years we have provided a full range of services including the planning, programming, and design of buildings for colleges, universities, schools, libraries, justice facilities, office buildings, cultural venues, and housing. We have twice been awarded the American Institute of Architects’ Firm Award “a distinguished body of work” and numerous local, regional and national design awards.

We believe architecture has the power to heighten human well-being and illuminate our cultural values. We are driven by a standard of excellence which provides the highest level of ethics and professionalism to our clients. We embrace thoughtful and responsible design in all aspects of our lives and we constantly strive to create buildings of architectural significance and responsibility.

Our work is developed within a collaborative atmosphere which cultivates research, analysis, and deliberation into judicious decision-making at all levels. Vigorous exploration of client goals is coupled with a detailed examination of their functional needs. This understanding is artfully transformed into three-dimensional space which inspires the daily life within the building. Physical patterns and the cultural fabric of each place are carefully studied to appropriately respond to each site’s unique physical and social context. Materials and systems are selected which respect and sustain our planet and the thoughtful expression of building craft and technology are economically integrated to bring the defining statement of character and identity for each of our clients.

AMD Staff
  • Paul S. Haack, AIA
  • Andrew G. Nielsen, FAIA
  • David C. Pfeifer, AIA
  • Joey Carrasquillo, AIA
  • John D. Graham, AIA
  • Ronald L. Mason, FAIA
  • John D. Anderson, FAIA
  • Curt F. Dale, FAIA
  • Cathy Bellem, AIA
  • Ben Blanchard, AIA
  • John Everin, AIA
  • Erin Hillhouse, AIA
  • David E. Houston, AIA
  • Suzanne Dupée Minear, AIA
  • Kristin O’Connell, Assoc AIA
  • Cynthia Ottenbrite, AIA
  • James R. Taylor, AIA
  • Dan Bishop, AIA
  • Stephan Hall, AIA
  • Peter Koehler, AIA
  • Ryan Lutz, AIA
  • Jenna Michieli, AIA
  • Michael Stesney, AIA
  • Todd Swarts, AIA
  • Kristina Winn, AIA
  • Julie Zurakowski, AIA