We are a 50-person architectural firm located in Denver, Colorado. For over 40 years we have provided a full range of services including the planning, programming, and design of buildings for colleges, universities, schools, libraries, justice facilities, office buildings, cultural venues, and housing. We have twice been awarded the American Institute of Architects' Firm Award for "a distinguished body of work" and numerous local, regional and national design awards.

We believe architecture has the power to heighten human well-being and illuminate our cultural values. We are driven by a standard of excellence which provides the highest level of ethics and professionalism to our clients. We embrace thoughtful and responsible design in all aspects of our lives and we constantly strive to create buildings of architectural significance and responsibility.

Our work is developed within a collaborative atmosphere which cultivates research, analysis, and deliberation into judicious decision-making at all levels. Vigorous exploration of client goals is coupled with a detailed examination of their functional needs. This understanding is artfully transformed into three-dimensional space which inspires the daily life within the building. Physical patterns and the cultural fabric of each place are carefully studied to appropriately respond to each site's unique physical and social context. Materials and systems are selected which respect and sustain our planet and the thoughtful expression of building craft and technology are economically integrated to bring the defining statement of character and identity for each of our clients.

Paul S. Haack, AIA
Andrew G. Nielsen, FAIA
David C. Pfeifer, AIA
Joey Carrasquillo, AIA
John D. Graham, AIA

John D. Anderson, FAIA 1926-2017
Ronald L. Mason, FAIA Emeritus
Curt F. Dale, FAIA 1945-2003

Cathy Bellem, AIA
Ben Blanchard, AIA
John Everin, AIA
Erin Hillhouse, AIA
David E. Houston, AIA
James R. Taylor, AIA

Dan Bishop, AIA
Peter Koehler, AIA
Pamela J. Loomis, SDA/C
Ryan Lutz, AIA
Kristin O'Connell, Assoc AIA
Jenna Michieli, AIA
Suzanne Minear, AIA
Cynthia Ottenbrite, AIA
Charlotte Stapleton
Todd Swarts, AIA
Kristina Winn, AIA
Julie Zurakowski, AIA
3198 Speer Boulevard
Denver Colorado 80211

303 294 9448
fax 303 294 0762


The existing University of Colorado Denver's School of Dental Medicine, constructed in 2004, is located in the heart of the Anschutz Medical Campus. The original three story building design by Bohlin Cywinski Jackson included considerations for a possible future fourth floor addition. In 2009, Anderson Mason Dale Architects was selected to design the fourth floor addition, with Bohlin Cywinski Jackson involved as a dental planning consultant.

A pre-design feasibility study determined that the limited size of a fourth floor addition would not fully accommodate the growth needs of the School. Through a series of alternative concept studies, a decision was made to also include a partial third floor addition in the project scope. The combined additions will add approximately 20,000 square feet to the existing 95,000 square foot building.

The exterior design of the new additions will respect the design of the original building. Consistent with the original design intent, the fourth floor addition will utilize lighter appearing materials to minimize the increase to the building mass. The third floor addition will be designed to fit seamlessly with the adjacent existing third floor areas.

The additions will include open clinical operatory spaces adding a combined 66 new dental chairs to the existing facility. New clinical support spaces at both floors include dispensary, contaminated instruments, laboratory, and radiology rooms. Both additions also include new offices for faculty and new reception/waiting areas to serve the public.

School of Dental Medicine Addition